top of page
Search

2021 Road Rally Winners

The second annual Hyde Park Road Rally was extra puzzling and extra fun, riddled with clues that had to be decoded before teams could motor to the secret locations all over town. And not every team solved them all...


Could you identify these Hyde Park landmarks? (You'll find the answers at the bottom of this post)

  1. I am a page in time, that stands true in the rhyme. Tall in stature, and a will of stone, I stand here, not alone.

  2. You used to hear a friendly “moo” when passing down our street, but nowadays a passerby is more likely to hear a “bleat!”

  3. I was the first in town, should you come around. My belfry stands tall to make the call, to make sure to summon all. Peace and love are all I seek when I hear the preacher speak.

  4. Sports oriented was I when the balls filled the sky. A cup, a bat is where it was at, should we decide to make a comeback. Time gone by and the space now used, as a building for an educational fuse.

  5. All roads lead to Rome, they say, but in this Hyde Park riddle, two roads by two similar names lead to a crypt-ic middle. Head up-hill and on your left, I’m a shady place for eternal rest.

  6. The North Village is where I know, we all began to grow. Course by course, year by year, learn you would when you were here. Essential once...now gone by. Residential now am I.

  7. Through Cleveland Corners and up over the ridge, take a picture of what used to be a bridge. It’s long gone now, but not forgotten. They took it down ‘cause it was rotten.

  8. My propeller is still, but my wings are hot. Not a bar, but a post, don’t serve those who have not.

  9. If you’re feeling looney, and a puddle is too puny, I’m smaller than the reservoir, but if you hit Wolcott you’ve gone too far. Named for the woods in which I sit, leave no trace if you come to visit.

  10. Nothing like a player, but this is not a game. We’ve got a lot to say for sure, but we’ll sing our way to fame.

  11. Rails of steel once close by, watched my steam reach the sky. An historic dry bridge made of wood was very close to where I stood. Idle I stand among the trees, won’t you cycle to visit me please?

  12. Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It’s off to school we go. Learning at Bundy couldn’t be finer. No longer standing, but my sign’s the reminder.

And the Winners Are...

Eager to hold on to their 2020 title as the Road Rally Champs, Team OT returned to claim first prize! Carol, Marie, Martin, Drew, and Hilde solved all twelve riddles and snapped their photos on day one of the Rally. They even survived a couple ghostly encounters in our local cemeteries. Eek!


In second place is Team LERC, Lisa, Elizabeth, Robert and Carolyn. They completed the rally in about three days and squeezed in some goat snuggles along the way. Our third place winners are The J.A.R.S., led by team captain Shayne Spence, pictured here visiting two of our town's former school sites.


Honorable mention to Stephen Dick and his trusty steed Bob the Saab and to Team OLD, Dennis & Lorinda Smith, who also solved all our clues! And kudos to our other teams who came close... and at least looked like they had a blast exploring Hyde Park!


Answers:

  1. Page Monument in Hyde Park Village Cemetery

  2. Joneslan Farm

  3. First Congregational Church

  4. LUHS/GMTCC Campus

  5. Center Cemetery

  6. North Hyde Park School House (now a private residence)

  7. Former covered bridge site near Cleveland Corners

  8. VFW Post

  9. Zack Woods

  10. Lamoille Players and the Hyde Park Opera House

  11. Former factory site along the Rail Trail

  12. Former Bundy School sign


bottom of page